archive current about me leave me a note � � cast favorite things poetry days celibate diary rings

previous - next

2006-02-09 - 9:24 PM

ok so heres the medical news..

the endocrinologist says there is some damage to my pancreas. as i understand it from the extended months of high blood sugar. it may heal itself over time and i might not have to be on insulin forever.

he changed the glucose lowering medicine i was on to another. saying the one they put me on isn't right for me. would make me gain weight over time. then he also added another insulin for me to take with meals. I'm to sample my blood 4 times a day. i learned to use a real syringe today. they are going to give me my insulin free for a while.

every meal i have to calculate carbohydrate intake and inject 1 unit of insulin for every 10 grams of carb in the meal and in addition to that add an additional unit per every 30 points my sugar is above 130. so for dinner tonight i had to take 6 units. it sounds like a pain in the butt
and it is... lol

i have to continue the other insulin at night and he raised that one to 25 units. that will get raised every three days till I'm near my target of 130.

the nurse told me that the reason i was having symptoms of high and low blood sugar is due to the rapid up and down cycles ..

some good news.. he will do the biopsy himself. so i don't have to go to the hospital.. its set for march 9. he gave me a complete physical. head to toe. felt of the thyroid nodules and he believes they are non toxic which is not cancer. but to be sure.. he will do the biopsy. i guess an expert can tell things with his hands and fingers. he read my chart through and through.. asked me a lot of questions. hes a great doctor.. never acts in a hurry.. treats you like your the only one he has to see that day. of course he charges out the ass too... this one visit was over 200. but totally worth every penny. i feel so relieved and confident in him. a rare thing
for me to feel about a doctor. i loath most of them.

as for my yoshi... he still has the trots... but i think might be better than yesterday. im feeding him just rice today.. might add some boiled hamburger tomorrow.

i hope we get some rest tonight... im so tired i could fall asleep in this chair. but i have to help fawn with math before we go to sleep ..i think ill do that from my bed. she can pile up with me and the math book.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
HELP SUPPORT US
thank you for being our angels.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Marriage is love.