archive current about me leave me a note � � cast favorite things poetry days celibate diary rings

previous - next

2006-01-27 - 4:44 AM

more wonderful news.. I'm diabetic they put me on daily insulin shots gave me a monitor that i have to ck my blood sugar level twice a day. she said that if i had gone to the ER with a blood sugar level of 360 they would have admitted me.. if i had insurance they prob would have sent me over today. but they are going to monitor me closely I'm to call the nurse if i need anything.. they are setting me up with a clinic because the cost of diabetic supplies will be a lot. i gave myself a shot for the first time in my tummy at the office today. i broke down and cried ... its not just because i have a life long phobia of needles and have to meditate whenever im faced with that (which has been a lot with all the medical problems ive had in the past) but just because its was so much to take in along with everything else at that moment. i had prepared mentally for thyroid testing and all that goes with that. but now i have to deal with poking myself with a needle three times a day in addition. it was overwhelming and i broke down and cried like a baby on the nurses shoulder

they are setting up the thyroid uptake scan for me at penrose hosptial.she said that the diabetes might be caused from the tumors but they have to treat it separate now because its very serious. she said its possible the adrenal and the thyroid tumors are interacting with each other since both are part of the endocrine system..

they are sending me for a thyroid uptake scan i 123. they will give me some pills with a small dose of radioactive material. its a 2 day test .. but i don't have to stay overnight in the hospital. it collects in the thyroid and gives off energy as gamma rays. The gamma camera detects the rays and works with a computer to produce images and measurements of organs and tissues. i believe the radioactive material is with iodine when its directed at the thyroid.. my understanding is the thyroid is the only organ that processes iodine.

they will be able to tell if its cancer from this type of scan and also be able to ck the function of my thyroid in how it assimilates or doesn't assimilate the iodine. being non invasive and not a biopsy i would prefer this sort of test. but the only place this is done is in a nuclear medicine department of a hospital. i called and found out the cost is around 1200.

i wonder how im going to pay for everything that will be needed without insurance. my father wants to send money to cover this test. ill let him but this is only the beginning.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
HELP SUPPORT US
thank you for being our angels.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Marriage is love.